New ZealandRecertification · 16 HPCA Act authorities
Building a New Zealand Recertification Portfolio That Stands Up to Any Audit
One evidence system that works whichever responsible authority you answer to: how 16 authorities audit, what each one wants to see, how long to keep it, and exactly what to do in the weeks after the selection email arrives.
Reviewed October 2026 against Nursing Council, Medical Council, Midwifery Council, Dental Council, Pharmacy Council and 11 other authorities' audit guidance
Short answer: An audit-ready recertification portfolio in New Zealand holds six things for the period your authority looks back over: your plan, a dated activity log, proof for each activity, written reflections, confirmation from a peer, supervisor or verifier, and a copy of your APC declaration. Keep it in your authority's own system (MyRecert, MyMCANZ, MyCCP, Inpractice and so on) plus a de-identified backup folder, retained for at least three years. If you are selected, read the email the same day, note the deadline (from 15 working days to about six weeks) and send only what was asked for.
Key takeaways
- Audit odds vary hugely: about 5% of physiotherapists a year, about 20% of dietitians and podiatrists, and up to 40% of medical radiation technologists and medical laboratory practitioners every two years.
- An audit tests the declaration you already made at APC renewal. Evidence built after the selection email is the commonest way to turn a routine check into a credibility problem.
- Most programmes reward specific, dated, de-identified evidence and real reflection on your own practice, not piles of certificates. The Nursing Council does not even require PD certificates.
- Pharmacy Council reviewers rated 83% of sampled 2023/24 MyRecert portfolios acceptable; the weak ones had thin documentation, vague goals and reflections without insight or application.
- Falling short usually means a request for more evidence first. Persistent or significant failure can lead, under section 43 of the HPCA Act, to conditions on your scope or suspension.
- The Nursing Council has temporarily paused recertification audits, but nurses still make the continuing competence declaration at every APC renewal, so the records still matter.
What a recertification audit actually tests
Section 41 of the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 lets each responsible authority set recertification programmes, and at each annual practising certificate renewal you declare whether you have met yours. Our New Zealand CPD overview explains how those programmes differ. This guide is about the moment after the declaration: when an authority asks you to prove it.
That framing matters. An auditor is not asking whether you are a good practitioner in some general sense. The Dietitians Board says plainly that its audit "is not a form of performance appraisal or a measure of their competence". The question is narrower and harder to fudge: does the record you hold match what you declared, for the period the programme covers? A portfolio that answers that question in ten minutes is audit-ready. One that needs a weekend of reconstruction is not, however much learning you actually did.
Three features make that easier everywhere:
- Contemporaneous entries. Logged at the time, with dates that match certificates, rosters and emails.
- Traceability. Every claimed hour or activity points to a document you can produce.
- Fit to the rule set. The record is organised the way your authority counts: hours, credits, components, pou, competencies or a learning cycle.
In October 2026 the Nursing Council's audit page carries a notice headed "Temporary pause on recertification audit". It says nurses selected for audit "are no longer required to provide audit evidence to the Council" while it carries out a strategic review of continuing competence requirements. You must still apply for your APC as usual, including the declaration that you meet the Council's requirements, and no end date for the pause is given. Keep your records exactly as if audits were running.
Authority-by-authority audit comparison
The table pulls together, for each authority, how practitioners are picked, where the record lives, how long records must be kept (where the authority states it) and what you face once selected. Where an authority's own pages do not state a figure, the cell says so rather than guessing. Osteopaths, and anyone whose authority is not listed, should check their own authority's current audit pages. For each authority's full programme rules, use the profession pages: nurses, doctors, midwives, oral health practitioners, pharmacists and allied and other professions.
| Authority | Who gets audited | Where the record lives | Retention or look-back | Once selected |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing Council | 5% of practising nurses a year (temporarily paused) | Your own PD record; evidence uploaded via MyNC | Previous 36 months | About six weeks to submit; about one month for any further information |
| Medical Council (general scope) | Council works with providers; may ask for evidence of enrolment and participation | Inpractice e-portfolio (bpacnz); vocational doctors use their college or provider | 12-month Inpractice cycle; retention not stated | Asked to explain any shortfall; may be given a set timeframe to remedy it |
| Midwifery Council | Up to 5% of midwives a year, at random | CPD tab of your MyMCANZ portal; audit sample uploaded through MyMCANZ | Rolling audit covering three years | Upload a small sample (about 20 to 25 pages) with your completed Recertification Programme Summary Planner |
| Dental Council | Audit rate not stated in the handbook; evidence also requested after a complaint, a non-compliance declaration or a return to practice | Your own records; peer nominated and confirmation made online | At least 3 years | Produce PDP, activity records, reflection and peer interaction evidence |
| Pharmacy Council | A group of completed MyRecert records each year | MyRecert, signed off by your verifier before your APC expires | Annual practising year; 450 practice hours over 3 years | MyRecert entries are what is reviewed |
| Physiotherapy Board | About 5% of APC holders a year, at random | Board's Recertification Record template, plus your own CPD logbook | Previous practising year; CPD over a rolling three years | Instructions emailed; no Board fee |
| Psychologists Board | A portion of APC applications, random or targeted | CCP logbook, recorded in the online CCP platform from 1 April 2026 | At least 3 years | 15 working days to submit, with a more detailed declaration |
| Medical Radiation Technologists Board | Up to 40% every two years | Your own logbook; submission through the online portal only | The biennium (the 2025 audit covered 2023 and 2024) | Exemption requests within 10 business days; six evidence pieces, four reflective statements |
| Medical Sciences Council | Up to 40% every two years; everyone within five years | Your own logbook (template for anaesthetic technicians) | At least 2 years, enough to cover a biennium | Exemption requests within 10 business days; one numbered PDF by email; 2026 audit closed 5 October |
| Dietitians Board | About 20% a year, at random | MyCCP in the Practitioner Portal | Annual programme; retention not stated | Submit your completed annual requirements; no extra work |
| Podiatrists Board | About 20% a year, semi-random | Practitioner portal | Two-year CPD cycle | Assessed online from your portal entries |
| Chiropractic Board | Up to 20% of APC holders each cycle, at random | Board's online CPD Record | Two-year cycle, at least 20 hours each year | Notified any time in the year after the cycle ends |
| Occupational Therapy Board | About 10% a year, mostly on risk-based criteria, some at random | ePortfolio via MyOTBNZ, with a nominated supervisor | Retention not stated | Four weeks' (20 working days') notice before the audit starts |
| Psychotherapists Board | Expect audit at least once every five years | MyPBANZ recertification plan, sighted by your supervisor | APC year 1 October to 30 September; retention not stated | Exemption or extension requests by the date in your selection email |
| Paramedic Council | A select number after each practising cycle | Council CPD template (Word or editable PDF) | 1 April to 31 March cycle | Each activity needs a recorded reflection linked to the standards |
| Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians Board | Progress checked at APC application and renewal | Programme includes your own self-audit | Two-year cycle; some components fall due every four to eight years | Board considers what is outstanding before deciding on an APC |
Maximum or approximate rates as each authority publishes them, October 2026. Occupational therapy figure from the Board's current ePortfolio audit policy. Authorities not shown, including the Dental, Pharmacy, Medical and Psychologists Boards and Councils, do not publish a percentage.
Two practical readings of that chart. If you are an MRT or work in a medical laboratory, plan on being audited more than once in a career; the MRT Board and the Medical Sciences Council both expect every practitioner to be audited within five years. And if you are on a 5% register, the low odds are exactly why records slip. A 5% chance each year adds up: over ten years it is roughly a two-in-five chance of being picked at least once, before any exemptions.
A portfolio structure that works for every authority
Authorities use different words for the same building blocks. A Dental Council PDP, a Psychologists Board learning plan and a MyRecert learning goal all do the same job. So does a Nursing Council verification declaration, a Pharmacy Council verifier sign-off and a Dental Council peer confirmation. Build your backup folder around the six blocks, and map them onto your authority's labels once.
Plan
PDP, learning goals or objectives, and the self-assessment behind them. Date every version: auditors look for a plan made early, then updated.
Activity log
One running list: date, activity, provider, hours or credits, and the standard, pou, domain or goal it serves. Totals at the bottom.
Evidence
Certificates, attendance records, peer group notes, audit summaries. Each item named and dated so it matches a line in the log.
Reflection
What you did, what you learned, what changed in your practice. Written within days of the activity, de-identified.
Third-party confirmation
Peer, verifier, supervisor or senior nurse sign-off, plus evidence the conversations happened (notes, emails, diary entries).
Practice and declaration
Proof of practice hours or settings, a short employment history, and a screenshot or PDF of each APC declaration you made.
The sixth block is the one most people forget. Some authorities ask for an employment history at audit (the Medical Sciences Council lists it with declarations and logbooks), and the Nursing and Pharmacy Councils both test 450 practice hours over the previous three years. Keeping a one-page record of where, when and roughly how much you worked takes ten minutes a year and saves hours of hunting through old payslips later.
- Log entry
- 2026-03-12 · Peer group meeting, medicines safety case review · 1.5 hours · Goal 2 (reduce dispensing near-misses)
- Evidence file
- 2026-03-12_PEER_medicines-case-review_1.5h.pdf (agenda plus attendance email)
- Reflection file
- 2026-03-15_REFL_medicines-case-review.docx (180 words, no patient identifiers)
- Confirmed by
- Discussed at verifier conversation, 2026-05-02; noted in MyRecert
- Logged as
- Peer group meeting; also linked to learning goal 2
The point of the index is that any auditor's question, "show me the evidence for this line", has a one-click answer. It also exposes gaps months before a deadline: a log line with no evidence file, or an evidence file with no reflection, is visible at a glance.
What good evidence looks like, activity by activity
The detail an authority wants varies, but the qualities of good evidence repeat across every programme we checked. Here is how they apply to the five activity types almost every portfolio contains.
Courses, conferences and certificates
A certificate proves attendance, not learning. Several authorities say so in their own way: the Nursing Council does not require PD certificates at audit at all, but wants a list showing the date or period, topic, hours and the pou each activity relates to. The Dental Council wants each professional development activity recorded with its provider, date, location and length. The Medical Sciences Council does not need supporting documents to be certified, but says each must include a date and your name.
- Certificate or attendance record showing your name, the date and the duration.
- A log line that matches it exactly: same date, same hours, same title.
- A link to a goal, standard, pou or competency, stated in the log, not left for the auditor to infer.
- A short reflection where your programme asks for one (paramedics, MRTs and pharmacists all do).
Peer review, peer groups and collegial conversations
This is where portfolios are weakest, because the activity is real but leaves no paper trail unless you create one. The Dental Council says evidence of peer interactions can include meeting notes, diary entries, emails or texts, and adds "We need to see evidence that the interactions have occurred." The Pharmacy Council is explicit that "a routine staff meeting does not constitute a peer group meeting", and its portfolio review found team, dispensary and operational meetings logged as peer groups. The Physiotherapy Board records peer review on its Recertification Record template and, for clinical work, requires a reviewer who is a New Zealand registered physiotherapist with a current APC.
- Date, length and attendees (by role, if names are not appropriate).
- What was reviewed or discussed, in one or two lines.
- One thing you will do differently, written the same week.
- For a formal peer, verifier or collegial relationship: the dates of each conversation, matching what they confirm.
Written reflection
Reflection is assessed for quality, not length. The Medical Sciences Council says there is no minimum length or number of general reflective statements, and its CPD policy has auditors look for three things in each one: what you did, what you learned and how it affected your practice. The Pharmacy Council's review asked pharmacists to identify clearly the insights they gained and how they will apply them in practice.
Weak
"Attended the sepsis update. Very informative and a good refresher. Will apply this to my practice going forward."
Strong
"The update showed I had been waiting for a second set of observations before escalating a rising early warning score. Since March I escalate on the first trigger and document the time I called. I checked my last ten escalations in May: all were within the expected time."
The strong version names a specific gap, a specific change and a way of checking it worked. It contains no patient detail. It could only have been written by the person who did the learning, which is the quality the Nursing Council's audit declaration targets when it asks you to confirm your evidence "has not been generated by artificial intelligence (AI)". Our guide to the Nursing Council AI declaration and authentic evidence covers where AI help ends and misrepresentation begins. If reflection is the part you dread, the Reflective Practice for Health Practitioners course is a shorter, 2-hour option focused on reflection.
Practice hours and employment
Practice hours are usually declared, not itemised, but you need to be able to back the declaration. The Nursing Council's audit asks for a declaration of at least 450 practice hours in the last three years; the Pharmacy Council asks the same question about the three years before each application. If you worked part of a cycle, some authorities pro-rate the CPD itself, which changes what your log needs to show; our guide to pro-rated CPD when your APC starts part-way through a cycle works through the arithmetic.
- A one-page employment history: employer or setting, role, dates, typical hours a week.
- One supporting document per role kept in the folder (an employment letter, contract summary or annual leave statement), with pay details removed.
- Breaks recorded with dates, so a dip in practice hours is explained before anyone asks.
Cultural safety and Te Tiriti activity
Almost every programme now has a cultural component, and it is a frequent weak spot. The Pharmacy Council's portfolio review named cultural safety as a recurring theme, reminding pharmacists that cultural competency is not the same as cultural safety and that a cultural safety action must go on to personal reflection on power imbalance, racism and their own biases. Requirements differ (a cultural safety action for pharmacists, at least 3 culture-focused hours a year for paramedics, a culturally appropriate practice statement for MRTs), and our cultural safety requirements comparison sets them side by side. For evidence purposes, the rule is the same everywhere: record the activity, then record what it changed in how you relate to Māori and other patients and whānau, in your own words.
Audit, quality improvement and feedback
Where a programme requires an audit (one medical audit a year for general scope doctors in Inpractice, for example) the evidence is the audit itself: the standard, the sample, the result, the change and, ideally, the re-measure. bpacnz notes that audit data and a summary can be uploaded to the Inpractice website. Ideas for topics are in our medical audit ideas guide. Multisource feedback and patient questionnaires belong in the folder as the summary report plus your response, never as raw comments that could identify anyone.
File naming, storage and privacy
Good naming is what lets you answer an audit request in an evening. The format below sorts chronologically in any folder and tells you what each file is without opening it.
| Part | Format | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Date | YYYY-MM-DD of the activity, not the upload | 2026-03-12 |
| Type code | CERT, PEER, REFL, PLAN, AUDIT, FDBK, CULT, EMP, DECL | PEER |
| Short topic | Two to four words, hyphenated | medicines-case-review |
| Hours or credits | Where your programme counts them | 1.5h |
| Full name | Joined with underscores | 2026-03-12_PEER_medicines-case-review_1.5h.pdf |
- One folder per practising year, with subfolders for the six blocks. Many programmes run 1 April to 31 March; the cycle for dentists and dental specialists ends on 30 September, and psychotherapists' plans cover 1 October to 30 September; MRT and Medical Sciences audits cover calendar-year biennia.
- Two copies. Your authority's portal is the official record, but treat it as one copy. MyNC, for example, does not save audit evidence as a draft, so prepare your files locally first.
- PDF everything you can. Convert photos of certificates to PDF and keep the orientation consistent.
- Keep a rolling four-year archive. The Dental Council and Psychologists Board require at least three years and the Medical Sciences Council at least two, while the Nursing Council and Midwifery Council look back over three years. Four years gives a margin over every stated rule we found; delete nothing until a cycle has closed and any audit is finished.
- Store personal folders on a password-protected account, not a shared practice drive, and never in a workplace system you could lose access to when you change jobs.
The Dental Council says you "must not include confidential patient information in your written reflection". The Nursing Council's audit guidance asks you to keep people, colleagues and workplaces anonymous and include only the information needed for context. Remove names, NHIs, dates of birth, addresses and rare details that could identify someone in a small community. A de-identified reflection is just as convincing to an auditor, and an identifiable one creates a privacy problem on top of the audit.
The audit-ready checklist
Run this at the start of each practising year and again a month before your APC renewal. Tick only what you could hand an auditor today.
Plan
- I have a written plan (PDP, learning goals, objectives or recertification plan) dated near the start of the cycle.
- My goals are specific and measurable, and each says how I will know it is achieved.
- Changes to the plan through the year are dated, not overwritten.
- Where my programme requires it, a peer, supervisor or verifier has seen the plan, and I have recorded when.
Log
- Every activity has a date, title, provider, hours or credits and the goal or standard it serves.
- My totals meet the minimum for my programme, including any yearly floor or category split.
- Nothing is counted twice unless my authority allows it and I have said so.
- Entries were made within weeks of each activity, not reconstructed at renewal.
Evidence and reflection
- Each log line has a matching, consistently named file.
- Reflections name a specific gap, a specific change and how I checked it.
- My cultural component is recorded with personal reflection, not just attendance.
- No file contains identifiable patient, client or colleague information.
- Everything is in my own words and describes my own practice.
Confirmation and declaration
- Peer, verifier, supervisor or senior nurse conversations are dated and match what they will confirm.
- Any required sign-off is complete before my APC expires.
- My employment history and practice hours are current.
- I have saved a copy of each APC declaration I made.
- I know my authority's audit response window and the email address audits come from, and that address is not going to junk mail.
Selected for audit: what to do, step by step
Selection emails are routine and the deadlines are short, so the first hour matters more than the last week. Response windows we found range from 15 working days (psychologists) to about six weeks (nurses, when audits are running); the Medical Sciences Council's 2026 audit ran from 14 July to 5 October. The Medical Radiation Technologists Board and Medical Sciences Council want any exemption request within 10 business days of the first email.
- Day 1: read, note and acknowledge
Write down the deadline, the period being audited, the submission route (portal, email or template) and any exemption window. If you will be overseas, on leave or unwell, ask for an extension now; the Nursing Council, MRT Board, Medical Sciences Council and Psychotherapists Board pages all describe an extension or exemption route.
- Days 2 to 3: check whether you are exempt
Exemptions are authority-specific. Nurses, for instance, are exempt if they were audited in the previous three years or are in an approved PDRP. Email the authority rather than assuming.
- Week 1: list exactly what was asked for
Turn the request into a checklist. The Midwifery Council says it does not need your entire portfolio, only a small sample of about 20 to 25 pages; the MRT Board wants six pieces of evidence and four reflective statements. Send what is asked, in the order asked.
- Week 1 to 2: pull files from your index
Copy (do not move) each requested item into a submission folder. Check names, dates and hours match the log line by line.
- Week 2: fill genuine gaps honestly
If a certificate is missing, ask the provider for a copy. If a peer confirmation is missing, ask your peer to confirm what actually happened and when. Never create or backdate a document; explain a gap instead.
- Week 2 to 3: final privacy and format check
Remove identifiers, confirm file types, and combine into one PDF where asked. Quote your registration number in every email.
- Before the deadline: submit once and keep the receipt
The Nursing Council warns that multiple clicks on Submit create multiple submissions. Save the confirmation email with your submission folder.
Nursing Council confirms receipt of an audit submission.
Nursing Council assessment time.
Nursing Council window to supply further information if asked.
Psychologists Board may re-audit a partially compliant psychologist the following year.
Timeframes as published by each authority, October 2026.
Why evidence gets sent back
Authorities rarely publish a list of rejection reasons, but their guidance and review reports point to the same problems again and again. The Pharmacy Council's review of randomly selected, anonymised 2023/24 MyRecert portfolios is the most detailed: eight pharmacist reviewers scored most at 3 on a five-point scale, and only a small number at 4 or 5.
Pharmacy Council, Review of 2023/24 MyRecert portfolios.
- Documentation too thin to show the requirement was met. The Pharmacy Council's review calls for sufficient, clear and complete documentation in each part of MyRecert.
- Vague goals and an unfinished learning cycle. Goals that are not SMART, and no evaluation of the impact on practice.
- Reflection without insight. A description of the activity with no statement of what you learned or how you will apply it.
- The wrong activity in the wrong box. Staff, team or operational meetings logged as peer group meetings.
- Cultural safety reduced to knowledge. Facts about tikanga or a course title, with no reflection on your own power, bias or practice.
- Generic or generated examples. The Nursing Council asks for examples describing specific interactions or situations, and warns undisclosed AI use may lead to "professional misrepresentation and inaccuracies".
- Unreadable or unusable files. The Medical Sciences Council does not accept hard copies and wants a typed or digital logbook; the MRT Board does not accept paper submissions.
- Evidence outside the audit period. Activities dated before the period under audit, such as an MRT counting 2022 learning in the audit of the 2023 to 2024 biennium.
- Supporting documents without your name or a date. The Medical Sciences Council requires both on each one.
If your audit falls short
Not meeting audit requirements is usually the start of a conversation, not a sanction. Every authority whose process we could read begins with a request for more information or a chance to put things right. Escalation follows when evidence is not provided, the shortfall is significant, or it keeps happening. The legal basis is section 43 of the HPCA Act, which several authorities cite directly.
| Authority | First step | If it is not resolved |
|---|---|---|
| Nursing Council | May ask for additional evidence; you can request further consideration and may be offered a written or oral submission | Its exemption list refers to nurses with conditions on scope for not meeting continuing competence requirements |
| Medical Council | Asked to explain why; may be required to remedy deficiencies within a set timeframe | Conditions on scope; significant or ongoing failure can mean suspension until compliance is shown |
| Midwifery Council | Review of the evidence sample you upload | If evidence of continuing competence is not satisfactory: an interim practising certificate with conditions, a competence review or programme, conditions on scope, or restriction or decline of the APC |
| Pharmacy Council | More information or additional actions | Where significant or involving a false statement, conditions on scope or suspension under section 43(1) |
| Physiotherapy Board | Referral to the Board or Registrar if evidence is missing or below standard | Possible competence review, conditions, or suspension of the practising certificate |
| Psychologists Board | Feedback and guidance; individual assistance; possible re-audit next year | Refusal to provide documentation or co-operate goes to the Conduct, Competence and Fitness Committee |
| Dental Council | A declined peer confirmation alone does not stop an APC being issued | A total lack of compliance or an ongoing pattern may be investigated further; section 43 lets the Council act |
| Occupational Therapy Board | Audit coaching or a 10-day re-audit | Referral to the Registrar or Board, then action under section 43 |
A false declaration is treated far more seriously than a shortfall. The Dental Council's handbook notes that a false declaration is an offence under section 172 of the HPCA Act carrying a fine of up to $10,000, and the Pharmacy Council's policy describes its high-trust system as one where a breach of trust is treated as serious. If you know you are behind before renewal, tell your authority and make a plan, rather than declaring and hoping. If a concern is already turning into something bigger, our guide to fitness to practise in New Zealand explains what each stage involves.
Self-check: would this pass?
A dietitian is selected for audit and starts writing up extra activities to strengthen her MyCCP record. Good idea?
A pharmacist logs the monthly dispensary team meeting as both of his peer group meetings. Will it count?
A medical laboratory scientist keeps a handwritten logbook and plans to post photocopies to the Council. Will that work?
An MRT started practising part-way through the biennium and assumes he needs the full 40 hours. Right?
A psychologist gets an audit request on a Monday and plans to deal with it after a three-week holiday. Safe?
Frequently asked questions
How long should I keep CPD records in New Zealand?
It depends on your authority. The Dental Council and the Psychologists Board require at least three years and the Medical Sciences Council at least two years, while the Nursing and Midwifery Councils look back over three years at audit. A rolling four-year archive gives a margin over every rule we found, and you should never delete records while an audit or complaint is open.
Which authority uses MyRecert, and what is a CCP logbook?
MyRecert is the Pharmacy Council's online portfolio, signed off by your verifier. CCP stands for Continuing Competence Programme: the Psychologists Board's CCP logbook must be kept for at least three years and is recorded on its online platform from 1 April 2026, while the Dietitians Board's equivalent is MyCCP in its Practitioner Portal.
Do I need certificates for every activity?
Not always. The Nursing Council says PD certificates are not required for its audit, as long as your record shows the date, topic, hours and pou. Other authorities ask for supporting evidence, such as the MRT Board's six pieces of evidence. Keeping a certificate or attendance record for each activity costs nothing and covers both approaches.
Can I upload my whole portfolio when I am audited?
Avoid it. The Midwifery Council says it does not need to see your entire portfolio, only a small sample of about 20 to 25 pages. Auditors want the specific items requested, clearly labelled, in the order asked for.
Is the audit the same as a competence review?
No. A recertification audit checks that you met your programme and that your declaration was accurate. A competence review is a separate HPCA Act process that looks at your actual practice. An audit can lead to one if the shortfall is serious or unresolved, and several authorities list it as a possible outcome.
Can my employer's records stand in for my own portfolio?
Employer training records can support your log, but they rarely contain your plan, reflections or third-party confirmations, and you may lose access when you change jobs. Keep your own copy of anything you rely on.
Can I use Fitness To Practice courses as audit evidence?
No New Zealand responsible authority approves or accredits our courses. Practitioners choose learning that fits their own plan, then keep the certificate and their reflection as evidence. Whether an activity meets a requirement is always your authority's decision.
I was selected but cannot meet the deadline. What should I do?
Contact the authority straight away, quoting your registration number. The Nursing Council, MRT Board, Medical Sciences Council and Psychotherapists Board all describe extension or exemption routes, and some set short windows for asking, such as 10 business days.
Primary sources
28 official documents
- Nursing Council of New Zealand: Recertification audits
- Nursing Council of New Zealand: Recertification audit guidance for enrolled and registered nurses (version 2.0)
- Nursing Council of New Zealand: Continuing competence
- Medical Council of New Zealand: Recertification requirements for doctors practising in the general scope
- Medical Council of New Zealand: Recertification compliance
- bpacnz: CPD information (Inpractice)
- Midwifery Council: eMidpoint August 2024 (recertification audit)
- Midwifery Council: Recertification policy
- Dental Council: Your recertification programme, handbook for oral health practitioners (November 2023)
- Pharmacy Council: Recertification
- Pharmacy Council: CPD requirements 2025-26
- Pharmacy Council: Recertification policy (June 2021)
- Pharmacy Council: Review of 2023/24 MyRecert portfolios
- Physiotherapy Board: Recertification audit
- Psychologists Board: Continuing Competence Programme guide for participants
- Psychologists Board: Pānui February 2026
- Medical Radiation Technologists Board: Recertification and CPD
- Medical Sciences Council: Recertification programme (CPD)
- Medical Sciences Council: CPD policy (September 2024)
- Medical Sciences Council: Recertification audit how-to tips (August 2026)
- Dietitians Board: Continuing professional development
- Podiatrists Board: CPD requirements
- Chiropractic Board: Continuing professional development
- Occupational Therapy Board: ePortfolio
- Occupational Therapy Board: ePortfolio audit policy
- Psychotherapists Board: Recertification and recertification audit
- Paramedic Council: Professional development
- Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians Board: Recertification