Thirteen authorities, one Act, thirteen different programmes
The Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (the HPCA Act) creates 18 responsible authorities in New Zealand. Five cover doctors, nurses, midwives, oral health practitioners and pharmacists, and each has its own page on this site. This page covers the other 13, whose registers cover psychologists, physiotherapists, paramedics, occupational therapists, MRTs, medical laboratory science and anaesthetic technology workers, optometrists, dispensing opticians, dietitians, podiatrists, chiropractors, osteopaths, psychotherapists and Chinese medicine practitioners.
Every one of these authorities sets a recertification programme under section 41 of the Act, and every one asks you to declare, when you renew your annual practising certificate (APC), that you have met it. That is where the similarity ends. Some count hours, one counts credits, some count nothing at all and look instead for a plan, a supervisor's involvement and evidence of reflection. Cycles run for one year or two, and audit rates range from about 5% to up to 40% of practitioners.
Below, the confirmed requirements sit side by side, each linked to the authority that owns the rule. Where we could not confirm a detail in October 2026, we say so rather than guess.
Directory: the 13 authorities and what each confirms
The figures below come from each authority's own website, read in October 2026. "Not stated on site" means the detail sits in a policy document we could not open or confirm, not that there is no requirement.
| Responsible authority | Who it registers | Cycle | Confirmed requirements |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paramedic Council (Te Kaunihera Manapou) | Paramedics, including those holding endorsements | Annual, 1 April to 31 March | 25 hours CPD a year (30 with an ECP, CCP or ICP endorsement); at least 3 hours on culture; record and reflect on each activity; post-cycle audit |
| Psychologists Board | Psychologists, including vocational scopes | Annual, 1 April to 31 March | Continuing Competence Programme: self-reflective review, learning objectives (ideally 3 to 5), learning plan, logged activities, year-end review; supervisor involvement; no set hours in the Board's guide |
| Physiotherapy Board | Physiotherapists, including specialists | Annual components, hours over three practising years | PDP and peer review on the Board's Recertification Record template; three reflections a year (one on Māori culture); 100 hours CPD every three practising years; about 5% audited each year |
| Medical Radiation Technologists Board | Medical radiation technologists | Two years (biennium) | 40 hours over the biennium, at least 15 in any one year, at least 24 substantive for a full two years; up to 40% audited; four reflective statements |
| Medical Sciences Council | Medical laboratory science and anaesthetic technology practitioners | Two years (biennium) | Hours set in the Council's CPD policy and vary by scope; up to 40% audited every two years; the 2026 audit covers 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2025 |
| Dietitians Board | Dietitians | Annual, April to March | 15 credits: 5 continuing education, 5 practice or peer review, 3 cultural development, 2 other; about 20% audited |
| Chiropractic Board | Chiropractors | Two years | At least 20 hours CPD every year; varied activities; one cultural or diversity responsiveness activity every two years; up to 20% audited each cycle |
| Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians Board | Optometrists, dispensing opticians | Two years (optometrists from 1 November; dispensing opticians from 1 December) | Four components: Te Tiriti o Waitangi (once, for those registered from 1 April 2025), first aid certification, CPD, self-audit; hours in the Board's policy |
| Occupational Therapy Board | Occupational therapists | Not stated on site | ePortfolio participation mandatory for all APC holders; every practitioner must have a supervisor for the ePortfolio |
| Podiatrists Board | Podiatrists, including advanced scopes and podiatric surgeons | Two years | CPD logged in the practitioner portal; extra requirements for advanced scopes; semi-random audit of about 20% each year |
| Psychotherapists Board | Psychotherapists | Annual | Recertification plan covering clinical, cultural and ethical standards, sighted by your supervisor; expect audit at least once every five years |
| Chinese Medicine Council | Chinese medicine practitioners (registration opened July 2023) | Not stated on site | Current first aid; mandatory cultural safety courses (4.5 CPD hours); a compulsory 2026–27 module on meeting CPD requirements |
| Osteopathic Council | Osteopaths | Check with the Council | We could not open the Council's recertification page in October 2026; use its site for current rules |
Two threads run through almost every programme: a cultural component (culture hours, a Māori culture reflection, cultural credits, a Te Tiriti component or set cultural safety modules) and written reflection. Very few of these programmes are satisfied by a pile of attendance certificates.
Paramedics: hours, culture and the April cycle
Te Kaunihera Manapou has regulated paramedics since 1 January 2020 and runs one of the clearest hour-based schemes in this group. Each year from 1 April to 31 March you complete 25 hours of CPD, or 30 hours if you hold an extended care, critical care or intensive care endorsement. At least 3 hours must focus on culture with the aim of improving the patient experience.
Hours alone do not meet the requirement. For every activity you record what you did and reflect on what you learned, and tie that reflection to the relevant Paramedic Council standard for clinical competence or cultural safety. You then declare at APC renewal whether you met the requirement, and after each practising cycle the Council audits a selection of paramedics.
- Log activities as you go, not in March.
- Write the reflection within a week while the learning is fresh.
- Read the Council's Code of Conduct alongside the standards: conduct topics such as boundaries, honesty and privacy are legitimate CPD for a paramedic.
Psychologists: the Continuing Competence Programme and the new Code
The Psychologists Board's Continuing Competence Programme (CCP) is built around a learning cycle rather than an hour target. The Board's participant guide does not mandate a number of hours. Instead, each CCP year (1 April to 31 March) you:
- Complete a self-reflective review against the Core Competencies, with your supervisor involved.
- Set learning objectives from the gaps you find, at least a few and ideally three to five.
- Write a learning plan showing how you will meet each one (reading, consultation, supervision, courses and so on).
- Record learning activities with dates through the year.
- Complete a year-end review with your supervisor against your original objectives.
Supervisor involvement is required for your first three years with a practising certificate and recommended after that. Keep your CCP logbook for at least three years: if your APC application is selected for audit, the guide gives you 15 working days to submit it.
Two 2026 changes matter. From 1 April 2026 the CCP moved to a compulsory digital platform in the practitioner portal, so your plan and records now live there. And from 1 October 2026 the Board's new Code of Conduct replaced the 2002 Code of Ethics for Psychologists Working in Aotearoa New Zealand as the primary guidance document. A CCP objective built on the new Code is an obvious choice this year.
Physiotherapists: PDP, peer review, three reflections and 100 hours
The Physiotherapy Board's recertification programme has annual parts and a rolling hours total:
- Professional development plan on the Board's Recertification Record template, signed off by a peer.
- Peer review, documented on the same template; in clinical settings the reviewer must be a New Zealand registered physiotherapist with a current APC.
- Three reflections a year: one on Māori culture and how it relates to your practice, and two from the cultural, ethical or professional categories.
- 100 hours of CPD every three practising years, on a rolling basis. Specialists and advanced practice physiotherapists put half of those hours into their specialty area.
Around 5% of physiotherapists with a current APC are randomly selected for a recertification audit each year, and the Board charges no fee for it. If you do not provide the documents, the matter goes to the Board or Registrar, which can lead to a competence review, conditions or suspension.
The Board and Physiotherapy New Zealand are consulting on a revised Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct. The draft is not yet in force, so the current code still applies.
Notes on four more authorities
Medical radiation technologists
The biennium model is strict about evidence. If audited, you supply practitioner and peer declarations, a CPD logbook, six pieces of evidence (at least four for substantive CPD and at least one from each year) and four reflective statements, covering ethical practice, scope of practice, cultural competence and one further element. Requirements are pro-rated if you worked part of the period.
Medical laboratory science and anaesthetic technology
The Medical Sciences Council audits up to 40% of practitioners every two years, aiming for every practitioner to be audited at least once in five years. Its site notes that the audit itself is a legal requirement under section 41. Pro-rated hours differ by scope (for example, 5 hours per three-month period for scientists and anaesthetic technicians), with full annual figures in the CPD policy.
Dietitians
The Dietitians Board counts credits rather than hours: 15 a year across four domains. Its programme applies to every practising dietitian, whether full time, part time, locum, paid or voluntary.
Chiropractors
At least 20 hours a year, recorded in the Board's online system, with peer interaction where possible and reflection treated as essential.
Optometrists and dispensing opticians
The Board warns that what you must do changes from year to year, because some parts fall due annually, some every two years and some every four to eight years. Read the Recertification Programme policy at the start of each cycle.
Not under the HPCA Act: who this page does not cover
Several professions people group with "allied health" are outside the HPCA Act. Social workers are registered under their own separate legislation. We found no statutory regulator for counsellors or speech-language therapists in our October 2026 check; they are usually members of professional associations with their own requirements. None of them has a section 41 recertification programme, and the HDC, Professional Conduct Committee and Tribunal pathway described on our other New Zealand pages applies to HPCA Act practitioners.
How our courses fit an allied health programme
No New Zealand responsible authority approves or accredits individual third-party courses for general recertification, and Fitness To Practice is not affiliated with, approved or endorsed by any of the 13 authorities above. What most of these programmes do is accept learning that you choose, link to your plan or objectives, and reflect on. That is what our courses are designed around. Each is 2 or 3 hours of study with built-in checks and a closing 20-question test (16 correct to pass), and you leave with a completion certificate and a reflection template that drops into a board logbook or online portal.
| If your programme asks for… | A course that fits | Hours and price |
|---|---|---|
| Engagement with the Psychologists Board's new Code of Conduct, or an ethical reflection for physiotherapy | Ethics for New Zealand Health Practitioners | 3 hours, NZ$139 |
| Boundaries in long, close therapeutic relationships (psychology, psychotherapy, physiotherapy, chiropractic, osteopathy) | Professional Boundaries with Patients, Whānau and Colleagues | 3 hours, NZ$139 |
| Reflective statements (MRT), reflections (physiotherapy), self-reflective review (psychology) | Reflective Practice for Health Practitioners | 2 hours, NZ$109 |
| Consent for hands-on or intimate assessment, or explaining risk | Informed Consent and Communication | 3 hours, NZ$139 |
| Records that would survive a peer review or audit | Clinical Documentation and Record Keeping | 3 hours, NZ$139 |
| Privacy in practice, including the Health Information Privacy Code changes from 1 May 2026 | Health Information Privacy and Confidentiality | 3 hours, NZ$139 |
Count only what your authority's rules let you count, and never round a course up beyond the hours you actually spent. If you are working under a competence programme or conditions set by your authority, this is different: see our guide to Professional Conduct Committee investigations and check with your authority before enrolling. You can browse every course on our New Zealand course page.
Ethics for New Zealand Health Practitioners
Professional Boundaries with Patients, Whānau and Colleagues
Reflective Practice for Health Practitioners
Informed Consent and Communication
Clinical Documentation and Record Keeping
Health Information Privacy and Confidentiality
Five habits that make any allied audit painless
- Start from the standard, not the catalogue. Pick the competency, domain or cultural requirement you need to address, then find learning that fits it.
- Record on the day. Date, provider, time spent, and which objective it serves.
- Reflect in your own words. What changed in your practice, with a de-identified example. Copying a course summary is not reflection.
- Mix the formats. Chiropractic asks for varied activities; dietetics and physiotherapy require peer elements; psychology needs your supervisor. A programme made only of online courses rarely meets any of them.
- Keep evidence for longer than the cycle. Psychologists must keep logbooks for three years; MRT and medical science audits look back over a full biennium after it ends.
Unsure whether something counts? Ask your authority before the cycle closes. Our fitness to practise overview covers what follows if wider concerns arise.
Courses for Other HPCA Act professions
All coursesEthics for New Zealand Health Practitioners
Ethical reasoning for Aotearoa: a seven-step decision framework, the Code of Rights, Te Tiriti and cultural safety, conscientious objection and end-of-life law.
Professional Boundaries with Patients, Whānau and Colleagues
Sexual and non-sexual boundaries, gifts, dual relationships in small communities and social media, with the zone of helpfulness and culturally safe practice.
Reflective Practice for Health Practitioners
Reflect with purpose: Gibbs, Kolb and Johns models, recertification reflection requirements, reflective statements after a concern and the legal status of notes.
Informed Consent and Communication
Consent under the Code of Rights clause by clause: interpreters, written consent, refusal, competence, EPOAs and welfare guardians, young people and whānau.
Clinical Documentation and Record Keeping
Accurate, honest and defensible notes: what a good entry contains, late entries and corrections, AI scribes, access requests and the 10-year retention rule.
Health Information Privacy and Confidentiality
The Privacy Act 2020 and HIPC 2020 rule by rule, including new rule 3A, serious-threat disclosures, digital confidentiality and responding to privacy breaches.
Questions
Which responsible authorities count as allied health for recertification in New Zealand?
There is no legal category called allied health. The HPCA Act has 18 responsible authorities. Leaving aside the councils for doctors, nurses, midwives, oral health and pharmacy, the other 13 regulate Chinese medicine, chiropractic, dietetics, medical radiation technology, medical sciences, occupational therapy, optometry and dispensing optics, osteopathy, paramedicine, physiotherapy, podiatry, psychology and psychotherapy. Each sets its own programme under section 41, so your authority's policy decides what you must do.
What is the annual CPD hours requirement for psychologists in New Zealand?
The Psychologists Board's Continuing Competence Programme guide does not set a minimum number of hours. It asks you to complete a self-reflective review, set learning objectives (ideally three to five), plan how to meet them, log activities and review the year with your supervisor. Since 1 April 2026 the programme runs on a compulsory digital platform in the practitioner portal, so check the portal for any updated prompts.
Do paramedic culture hours count towards the 25-hour total?
Yes. Paramedics must log 25 CPD hours each year, rising to 30 with an ECP, CCP or ICP endorsement, of which at least 3 hours must focus on culture to improve the patient experience. The culture hours sit inside the total rather than on top of it. Every activity, cultural or clinical, still needs its own entry and a reflection tied back to the Paramedic Council's competence and cultural safety standards.
How does the physiotherapy 100-hour rule work over three years?
The Physiotherapy Board asks for 100 hours of CPD every three practising years on a rolling basis, so the total is checked across the most recent three years rather than reset each April. Alongside the hours you still need an annual professional development plan, peer review and three reflections, one of them on Māori culture. Specialists and advanced practice physiotherapists put half their hours into their specialty.
Will my allied health board accept an online course from Fitness To Practice?
No authority approves our courses, and we are not affiliated with any of them. Most allied programmes let you choose learning that fits your plan or objectives and then reflect on it, so a course can be used where it is relevant. Whether it counts, and how many hours, is decided by your authority's rules. If in doubt, ask its recertification team before you rely on it.
Are social workers, counsellors and speech-language therapists covered by these recertification rules?
No. Social workers are registered under separate legislation, not the HPCA Act. We found no statutory regulator for counsellors or speech-language therapists in October 2026; their professional associations set membership requirements. Section 41 recertification programmes, and the HPCA Act complaint pathway, cover only people on the register of an HPCA Act authority (there are 18).
What happens if an allied health audit finds I have not met my programme?
Consequences depend on the authority, but the physiotherapy rules give a typical picture: missing documents are referred to the Board or Registrar, and that can end in a competence review, scope conditions or even suspension. Under the HPCA Act, not completing a recertification programme is not itself a ground for discipline, but it can affect your practising certificate. Respond quickly and honestly to any audit request.
Official sources
Checked October 2026. Rules and processes change, so confirm the current position with the official source. This page is general information, not legal advice.
- Ministry of Health: Responsible authorities under the HPCA Act
- Paramedic Council: Professional development
- Psychologists Board: Core competencies and codes
- Psychologists Board: CCP guide for participants
- Psychologists Board: Pānui February 2026
- Physiotherapy Board: Recertification programme and audit
- Physiotherapy Board: Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct review
- Medical Radiation Technologists Board: Recertification (CPD)
- Medical Sciences Council: Recertification programme (CPD)
- Dietitians Board: Continuing professional development
- Chiropractic Board: Continuing professional development
- Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians Board: Recertification
- Occupational Therapy Board: ePortfolio
- Podiatrists Board: CPD requirements
- Psychotherapists Board: Recertification
- Chinese Medicine Council: Recertification